Iowa City Song Project

[eshop_details show=’,’]

Release Date: 11/06/2012
Formats: 2xLP/CD/DL

Over the past year, The Englert Theatre, a 100-year-old performing arts venue in downtown Iowa City, commissioned 31 musicians and bands to write and record songs inspired by experiences or impressions of Iowa City. The songs — the bulk of them recorded locally — were collected into a compilation album called the Iowa City Song Project. The album features a diverse collection of artists tapping into sounds that range from roots-rock traditions to the experimental and avant-garde. It all makes sense: Iowa City is the home to folk-rock legends Greg Brown and Bo Ramsey, and it is also home to Night-People Records, the LP and cassette label that has released music from Dirty Beaches, Peaking Lights, and its flagship band Wet Hair. Iowa City has always been a welcome stage for Americana of all types — the folk sounds heard at The Englert Theatre and the 50-year old Mill, the rock ‘n roll at Gabe’s, and the new sounds heard at basement and house shows. This collection of songs, which could never claim to be the final word on a continually growing music community, is nonetheless a colorful snapshot of the scene that has been inspired by this small but vibrant town.

The album includes new music from Greg Brown, Bo Ramsey, William Elliott Whitmore, Pieta Brown, Rene Hell, Caroline Smith, The Poison Control Center, Wet Hair, and many more.



Take a listen to a few tracks from the record!



CD/LP Tracklist:

  1. “The Rules Of Summer” – Alex Body
  2. “Strange City” – Brooks Strause
  3. “Summer Sun” – Greg Brown
  4. “Help Thy Brother’s Boat Across” – David Zollo & The Body Electric
  5. “Doesn’t Take Long” – Pieta Brown
  6. “Run Johnny Run” – William Elliott Whitmore
  7. “A Short Walk” – Rene Hell
  8. “Up The Street From You” – Sam Knutson / Milk & Eggs
  9. “So It Goes” – Caroline Smith & Jesse Schuster
  10. “No Place Like Home” – Bo Ramsey
  11. “Death Buggy” (House Of Large Sizes cover) – Samuel Locke Ward
  12. “Old Capital City” – The Poison Control Center
  13. “Strings” – Emperors Club
  14. “The North Dodge Alley” – Wet Hair
  15. “Drought” – Cuticle
  16. “We’re So Lonely”  – Christopher The Conquered
  17. “Gasoline” – The Feralings
  18. “Unsteady Youth” – Alexis Stevens
  19. “Ashtray” – The Lonelyhearts
  20. “A Town of Tin Crowns” – Lwa


  1. “Two Leather Boots” – Awful Purdies
  2. “Hourglass” – Chasing Shade
  3. “Water Changes Plans” – Tallgrass
  4. “Mississippi River Town Blues” – We Shave
  5. “Speak To Us Of Love” – Skye Carrasco
  6. “Handle With Care” – John Svec
  7. “Wish I Could” – Flannel
  8. “Iowa City, Make Love To Me” – Pete Balestrieri
  9. “Max Yocum’s Blues” – Liberty Leg
  10. “The Sky Is Our Mountains” – Mumford’s
  11. “Corn Thrust” – The Tanks

To learn more about this project and its commissioner, the Englert Theatre, visit


“[…] the Iowa City Song Project is unquestionably a success. It manages to take a truly unique concept and execute that idea as best as it could have been done.”
– Jeremy Hoffman,

“At times exhilarating, moving, and even bizarre, the Iowa City Song Project seems to contain all the ingredients of artistic life, from disappointment to passion to joy.”
– Ezgi Ustundag,

“[The Iowa City Song Project is an] all-encompassing artistic reaction to the influential community constantly on the frontline of musical expression.”
– Brian Tremml, Hoopla

“[The Iowa City Song Project] is a perfect cross-section of what Iowa has to offer.”
– Dave Murphy,


The record comes with a download card packaged in it! You’ll use this to access your digital version. Thank you!

One Response

  1. […] of a bonus track, “Ashtray”, by The Lonelyhearts, which originally appeared on the Iowa City Song Project […]

Leave a Reply